Posted by: deercreekcharge | January 31, 2010

God’s House is Open!!!

We are having worship on Sunday morning, 31 January at this time (8:30pm, Saturday night). Deer Creek will be shoveled and/or plowed early on, before the 9am worship service. Mt. Tabor’s lot will be plowed and salted by 10am for the 11am service. We encourage you to be safe…that’s the main priority. But if you are looking for a place to worship on Sunday morning, come and join us! God’s house is open!!!

(On a side note, I was talking to my friend, and she couldn’t understand how excited I was to shovel the church’s lot…when I despise shoveling my own driveway…I explained that it was God’s driveway…so I had to be excited!!!)

If you decide not to venture out, please join us in worship in your own home. An outline of the service is below (the songs are linked to You Tube) and the pertinent announcements are in the previous post. Joys and concerns will be carried through to next week. The sermon will be posted tomorrow afternoon (hopefully!) if you would like to read/reflect upon it. It will remain up for several days before being taken down. Alternatively, you can spend the sermon time sharing or meditating upon your own call and how you answer that (or don’t).

Welcome and Announcements

Prelude

++Bringing in the Light of Christ

++Opening Hymn                     Where He Leads Me                 338 UMH

++Call to Worship (responsively)

One: Before the light of dawn broke through my darkest night,
Many: You knew me.
One: Before I wandered off to do my thing,
Many: You knew me.
One: Before I tripped and fell,
Many: You knew me.
One: Before you formed me in my mother’s womb,
Many: You knew me.
One: Before my birth,
Many: You set me apart and said, “Never be afraid, for I am with you.”
One: Then you touched me,
Many: And put your words into my mouth until I thundered to the very nations.

One: Before I ever realized that you were God,
Many: You knew all about me.

(Adapted from 21st Century Worship Resources)

Children’s Message

Opening Prayer (unison) Lord, we come to you today, humbled. You formed us into a masterpiece before we knew you. You gave us each a purpose in life. You called to us to follow you. But we ignored that call. Forgive us O Lord as we learn to accept and embrace the plan you have for our lives and follow you. Amen.

Silent Prayers of Confession and Thanksgiving

 

Words of Assurance and Pardon

One: As Children of God, know that you are forgiven.

Many: In the name of Christ, you are forgiven.

 

Passing of the Peace

One: And now let us share the Peace of Christ that passes all understanding—Peace be with you!

Many: And also with you!

Let us share a sign of the peace of Christ with those around us.

Proclamation of the Word

Jeremiah 1:4-10

++Hymn of Preparation He Leadeth Me: O Blessed Thought           128 UMH

 Sermon                          Don’t Put God on Hold Pastor Bonnie McCubbin

Response of the People

Anthem                                                       The Choir (DC), Solo by Scotty (MT)

Joys & Concerns

Pastoral Prayer and The Lord’s Prayer                                   895 UMH

 

Offering our Gifts to the Lord

Offertory                        

++Doxology                                                                                      95 UMH

++Prayer of Dedication (unison) All things come from you, O God. With gratitude we return to you what is yours. We offer ourselves, all that we have, in union with Christ’s offering for us. By your Holy Spirit, make us one with Christ, one with each other, and one in ministry to all the world, until Christ comes again in final victory. Amen.

 

Sending Forth

++Closing Hymn                      The Summons                          2130 TFWS 
++Taking the Light of Christ into the World

++Benediction

++Postlude

 May God’s blessing be upon you today and always! If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact us. We hope you will join us in worship either physically or virtually!

Leave a Reply

Categories

