Posted by: deercreekcharge | March 18, 2012

Winds of Change

From our Pastor, Bonnie McCubbin:

For those of you who were not in worship this morning (18 March 2012), I wanted to inform you that I announced this morning that effective 1 July 2012, I will be the new pastor of the Patapsco-Lodge Forest Cooperative Parish in Dundalk, Maryland. This is a wonderful opportunity for me to continue my growth personally and professionally. It is the next step on my faith journey as I look to life after graduation from seminary and my student pastorate. This cooperative ministry arrangement has many wonderful ministry and outreach activities already, and I am excited to see where God leads us as we seek to minister to and with the people of Dundalk and Edgemere! Deer Creek and Mt. Tabor have been wonderful places to begin my ministry career and live out my calling. You have taught me so many things. I have been honored and blessed to be your pastor! You will continue to do amazing ministry in this community, and I know that you will teach a new pastor more than he or she could ever imagine! Your love has been phenomenal. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for all that you have done and taught me over the past 2 and a half years. You will always hold a special place in my heart as my first appointment. May God continue to bless you and guide you in all that you do.

I know that many questions remain about what will happen to the congregations and who the new pastor will be. The SPRC will be meeting with our guide this week to create a pastoral profile of what you would like to have in the next pastor. That profile will be used to help find a good match for the next pastor. Hopefully we will know who that person will be in the next 4-8 weeks. I will be working with that person to help transition them into our congregational life. More details about this will be forthcoming, as well as the rules and regulations governing new appointments and contacting the previous pastor.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me (the pastor) or any member of our SPRC. Please keep all of us–all of the churches and pastors–in your prayers over the coming months as we begin this exciting and nervous time of transition.

Update:

It was announced in worship this morning (1 April 2012), that effective 1 July 2012, Pastor Shannon Sullivan will be the new pastor for the Deer Creek Charge. Pastor Sullivan will be graduating in May from The Theological School at Drew University (Madison, NJ), and has a heart and passion for social justice and the marginalized in the world. A Harford County native, she is very excited to begin her work with Deer Creek and Mt. Tabor UMCs. Please be sure to warmly welcome her.

Responses

  1. […] will be Sunday, June 3. You can read about this and the new pastor, Shannon Sullivan, at this blog post and in this Transition Letter […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

