Posted by: deercreekcharge | August 26, 2012

Creating Clean Hearts

We are continuing our study of David today with a look at the story of David, Bathsheba, and Uriah! Next week is our last week on David AND our blessing of the backpacks, so be sure not to miss it!

CHURCH HAPPENINGS

 

Help feed the Homeless at the Day Shelter (New Hope UMC, Edgewood) on the 3rd FRIDAY (MT) and 4th MONDAY (DC) of each month Next: August 27 (DC). We usually meet at each church around 11ish. We need people to make, deliver, and serve food.

 

Knit/Crochet No experience needed-will teach! Make scarves for the homeless or prayer shawls. Meets every other Friday at 7pm at Mt. Tabor. Next Meeting: August 24.

 

Don’t forget the on-going food drives at both Deer Creek and Mt. Tabor!

 

Let’s Pound the Pastor! We will have a pounding of the pastor, where we bring a pound of flour/sugar/etc. to welcome Shannon and Aaron Sunday September 9 anytime between 12:30 and 3. Shannon would love to have you see the parsonage whether or not you bring flour, of course, so come on over after church!

 

Bible Study will start up again this fall!

 

September and October are going to be busy months of worship together! Pray for us, and get excited!

 

Blessing of the Backpacks will be on September 2!

ALL students (any age!), teachers, aides, schools, buses, bus drivers, parents an anyone else involved with education, will be blessed by the congregation— and children are encouraged to bring their backpacks!

Homecoming at Mt. Tabor will be on September 16.

As you know, we will have combined worship at 11 am at Mt. Tabor followed by a potluck luncheon. Rev. Ed Heydt will be preaching! Invitations will go out later this month, but spread the word!

 

Weekly Devotion: Read Psalm 51 again.

O Beloved, have mercy on me.

Do away with the person I play.
Gently strip me of the lies I wear;
wash off all the makeup.

Heal me of my fear.
Restore me to my truest self,
the one you love.

Re-create me from the inside out.
Make me the flesh of your presence.

When I open my mouth
only your praise will sing out.

Your desire is not for my piety
but for me, for my heart
broken open for you.

 

O Beloved, have mercy on me.

 

-Rev. Steve Garnaas-Holmes, Unfolding Light

Leave a Reply

Categories

